Ms Goody spreads the Philly love with Valentine's Day cookies!

Philly, the city of brotherly love, is the perfect place to celebrate a unique and fun Valentine’s Day.  We wanted to get everyone in the romantic mood, and show Philly some love, with a special contest to celebrate all our city has to offer.

To enter, simply comment on this post by telling us how you will celebrate Valentine’s Day in a fun and unique way —  share a story from year’s past – or share an idea for the future!

We don’t want to hear about dressing up, a dozen roses and an overpriced dinner. No!  We want you to wow us with interesting and clever ways to say “I love you!”     The deadline to enter is Tuesday, February 14, 2012, at 5:00 PM.

For first place, the most fun and unique reply will win get a fun day at the salon with some sweet treats:

  • A gift card for a free cut (value $25-$55) at B2 Salon, recently opened at 777 S. Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA.   They offer women’s AND men’s cuts, along with other salon services.  They bring the luxury of Bernard’s Salons to their new urban setting. Watch for info coming soon on their new mobile massage!  Like them on Facebook to get the latest specials and deals.
  • A gift certificate for six free cupcakes (value $15) at Ms. Goody Cupcake on 1838 E. Passyunk Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19148.  They will reopen in February with amazing daily flavors, special themed cupcakes for the 2012 Philadelphia International Flower Show, gourmet cakes and their famous cake truffles!  Like them on Facebook to learn about reopening details and weekly specials.

Bernard's Salon brings the fun and luxury to a new B2 location at 777 S. Broad Street.

For second place, we will award some sugary love:

  • A gift certificate for 12 free cake truffles (value $9) at Ms. Goody Cupcake on 1838 E. Passyunk Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19148.  They will reopen in February.  Like them on Facebook to learn about reopening details and weekly specials.
Coming soon!
Stay tuned for other Philly Loves Fun contests and promotions!  Don’t forget to enter our contest to win tickets to the 2012 Philadelphia International Flower Show.  Click WIN FREE TICKETS on top of the page.
Disclaimer:  No monetary compensation or complimentary prizes were provided for this post.   Facebook, Twitter and Google are not affiliated with this giveaway.

About Philly Loves Fun

A blog about Philadelphia's fun and unique adventures, arts, events, food and opportunities.

9 responses »

  1. WOW, there is some great stuff! My BF is not free on Valentines Day, so we are celebrating it a day earlier. I am cooking a nice dinner for 2, cuddling on the sofa and watching a movie we will rent.

  2. Stella says:

    The guy I have my eye on in in another state for Valentine’s Day, so we have a skype date planned! Whatever works when you can’t be together!

  3. Shequanda says:

    I don’t know how I’m going to spend V-Day, seeing as I’m single right now but I do know of a great couple that’s going to making some pancakes. I wonder who that would be…

  4. Daniel Mangini says:

    i WILL BE SPENDING MY VALENTINE’S DAY SHOWING THE LOVE I HAVE FOR MY COMMUNITY by co-hosting an ice cream social at More Than Just Ice Cream today at 4:30 where myself and the staff of Philly Vax will be spreading the word about how others can join us to find a safe and effective vaccine against HIV! It is a perfect venue for me to share my passion for the work that is being done and that I LOVE! After, its a quiet dinner with my partner of nearly 28 years with friends!

  5. Perfectstormpsu says:

    We don’t really celebrate Valentine’s Day traditionally. We make sure that every day is special in its own way. However, I am feeling under the weather today, and totally appreciated the extra snuggle time this morning as a little Valentine’s Day surprise (he’s normally out and moving by 4:30am)!!

  6. Dashiell Sears says:

    I’ll be spending it first by ranting about how I hate walking behind smokers after I show up for a class that was cancelled. Then I’ll go across Liacouras walk to pick up a Starbucks double shot energy drink and a Special K bar along with some essential supplies as follows: Crest Complete Multi-benefit flouride toothpaste with whitening and a minty fresh Scope stripe, Crest Pro-Health Multi-Protection Alcohol Free CPC Antigingivitis/Antiplaque Oral Rinse, and a Colgate 360 Medium Full Toothbrush. After downing that Starbucks and eating that Special K bar I’m going to, before going to my Politics, Rights, and Sexual Orientation class, brush and rinse my teeth not once, not twice, but probably a 5-6 cycle routine. After class, I’ll be heading to the gym where I’ll surf the internet looking for some other places to apply for internships and sending in more applications, resumes, cover letters, etc for internships, all while playing some sappy love songs over the stereo in the gym. During several intervals, i’m going to repeat some teeth brushing and mouth washing cycles I’ll be taking nasal decongestants and popping some aspirin before going down to the training room to heat up my shoulders and back. Once I’m good and warm, I’ll be warming up and doing a routine on both Rings and Parallel Bars before working on parts of those routines that need cleaning up, and of course in between that I’ll be doing some teeth brushing and mouth washing cycles. When my training time is finished, I’ll grab a protein shake and coach a 5-year old black child who missed out on his practice on Sunday due to a ruptured ear ache and help him work on his routines for his first competition on Sunday. After all that is finished, I’ll take a quick shower at the gym, brush my teeth several more times, freshen up, take some more anti-decongestants, then head down to my honey bear’s house. Upon seeing him, i’m going to give him a big kiss that’ll be so minty fresh it’ll freeze his tongue. THAT’S how i’m spending my Valentine’s Day! 😉

  7. Some amazing replies everyone! Thanks for sharing. Daniel has the winning reply! What a great way to celebrate V-Day by helping the community and at such a fun place – one of our favorites. Stella ins second place for bringing Valentine’s Day into modern times with a Skype date!

    Please send koryaversa@gmail.com your mailing addresses to receive your prizes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

