With so many food reviews and blogs this month, I thought I would share some of my workout tips to fend off the battle of the bulge!  Lately, it seems that behind every corner I find tempting treats calling me name.  Whether its milkshakes at Square Peg or cupcakes at Ms Goody Cupcake, temptation is E-V-E-R-Y-W-H-E-R-E!   What’s worse is that my mind has gotten bored with traditional workouts at the gym.    My body and mind are literally crying out, “Bring back the workout fun!”

Outside of running up and down the Philadelphia Art Museum steps for the millionth time with the music from Rocky blaring in my headphones, I decided I better find something new and different to keep my energized.

In my quest to shake up my routine,  I picked up PhillyFIT Magazine to check out alternatives.    They have the answer to all my problems (or at least a short term fix).  Next month, on Sunday, May 20, from 11:00 AM – 3:00 PM,  they are having their 13th annual PhillyFIT BASH and Workout-A-Thon!  

The BASH! gives you a taste of ANYTHING and EVERYTHING dealing with fitness.   The vending area will feature 100+ different health and fitness vendors.  There will be FREE samples of food, water, juice, fruit and veggies.  Workout demos will include pilates, tae bo, karate, yoga, core, zumba, tai chi, gymnastics, spinning and more.

Specially for the women, there will be skin care consultations, makeup tips and makeovers.  For the men, there will be de-stress zones, live music, boxing demo and triathlon seminars.  Kids can get in on the action too, with obstacle courses, concerts, games, football challenges, karate, dance routines and gymnastics.  Shhhh!  Let’s not tell them they are actually getting fit in the process!

The fitness frenzy goes into overdrive with the Workout-A-Thon!  The city’s best fitness pros will try to wear me down with 20 different eight minute workouts, including high energy, low-impact, yoga, stretching, bootcamp, breathing, core and dance.   They will shake up my routine and give me some concrete ideas on how to recharge ongoing workouts.  Better yet, they will kick my butt in a fun atmosphere where I can meet other fitness lovers and make new friends.  Maybe I’ll meet a new workout buddy!   

Come out and join the fitness fun — and share your stories with Philly Loves Fun!  

PhillyFIT Bash!
Sunday, May 20, 2012
11:00 AM-3:00 PM
B&R FAMILY  CLUB1040 MILL CREEK DRIVE FEASTERVILLE, PA 19053

Cost: $10 for Bash and Workout-A-Thon!  Kids under 6 are free. Bash alone is $5.  Don’t forget to bring your yoga mat, swim suit, water bottle, and towel!  Waiver for the Workout-a-Thon must be signed before entering and can be found here.

Disclaimer:  No monetary compensation or in-kind items were provided for this post.

About Philly Loves Fun

A blog about Philadelphia's fun and unique adventures, arts, events, food and opportunities.

Leave a Reply

