Originally, the weather called for a massive downpour on Saturday.  However, the weather gods were with East Passyunk as it was a picture perfect day for an all out food fest.  The beautiful day brought out nearly 1,000 foodies and South Philly neighbors for some amazing eats.  The Avenue’s top restaurants were represented with many chefs and owners on hand. As I worked my way through all the food – in the name of blogging, of course – I discovered everything from sour, sweet and salty.  Tacos Al Pastor, with a hint of lime, from El Zarape was perfect complement to Cantina’s tart cherry margarita.  Some of my favorite dishes were the sausage gravy waffles from Chhaya, pizza from Marra’s,  ravioli from Mamma Maria Ristorante and gazpacho from Fuel.  Ms Goody Cupcake put the finishing touch on the 20-course meal with Swedish Fish and other cupcakes.  They were a huge crowd pleaser and nearly caused a stampede!  By day’s end, she reported serving 1,100 goodies.  That’s A LOT of cupcakes! 

After eating, I went to check out the craft market hosted by Crafty Balboa.  I will admit that I am not easily impressed by a craft show.  However, I was pleasantly surprised at the interesting twists and turns in this hipster-style craft bazaar.    Some of the more interesting finds included mini-pins imprinted with circus mustache  (only a $1!), and “Hipster” edition bingo games.  I then joined the crowd to watch Johnny Showcase, but I didn’t last long.  My couch was calling as the food comma was about to kick-in…. (I could have slept the entire weekend!)

 Check out my photo gallery from the 2012 Flavors of the Avenue:

Disclaimer:  This post and contest is brought to you with support from East Passyunk Avenue!  Facebook, Twitter and Google are not affiliated with any giveaways. Data collected may be shared with East Passyunk Avenue. 

About Philly Loves Fun

A blog about Philadelphia's fun and unique adventures, arts, events, food and opportunities.

Leave a Reply

